Restaurant Review – OMG Resto Cafe!

They said, “cheap food will make a restaurant sustain in Mumbai”. Then they said “Cheap booze will make a restaurant sustain in Mumbai”. Some even said “A great marketing team will make a place sustain in Mumbai”. Inspite of all these amazing notions and advice that everyone gives, the fact remains that 6 out of 10 new food places that open in Mumbai shut shop within a year of their opening. However sad that maybe, another fact is also that where a place as expensive as Hakkasan is packed with people on a weekday, so is a value for money place like Jai Hind. Bottomline? The bottomline of it all is that in Mumbai, if your place serves Good Food, it will work and sustain all its competition.  Consistent GOOD FOOD! As simple as that! And guess what? OMG Resto Cafe does just that.

Set up in the lanes of Andheri west (tell me something new right? :P), the first thing you will notice and love about this tiny cafe is how cosy it is! I could totally see myself relax in this cafe with my favorite book and a piece of cake. They have made most of the small area that they have with some pretty interiors and a fabulous open (smoking area) too!

After some thorough research of their menu, I decided that I want to try as much off the menu as I can and thus I told the manager to give me as tiny portions of food as possible. I am mentioning this because the portions that you will see in the pictures I put up are not the portions they actually serve you (they are much bigger).

We started our meal with the Mango Milkshake and the Oreo Milkshake. Though the Mango Milkshake was a little too sweet, it was extremely refreshing and a must try for all the Mango lovers out there. The Oreo Milkshake was truly what your dreams must be made of! Loved each and every sip of the divinity that it was.

DSCN0446

DSCN0442.JPG

We hadnt even fully appreciated the amazing milkshakes that they were when the appetizers started flowing in. My favorites were the Sweet Potato Fries, the Beer Battered Fish n Chips and the Chicken bites with a tangy Mango Sauce. What I loved about the food here was that inspite of being fried, it wasnt even a little oily and was light and crunchy to eat. The Paprika Prawns were full of flavor but I just wanted a little more of that amazing paprika sauce on it. The Chicken Fajitas on a stick  was my least favorite of the lot. It wasnt bad, but the concept didnt really work for me.

DSCN0450
Sweet Potato Fries
DSCN0453
Beer Battered Fish n Chips
DSCN0456
Prawns Paprika

DSCN0457

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN0462
Chicken Bites with Mango chutney.
DSCN0466
Chicken Fajitas on a stick

Just when I was saying to my sister “I really like the food here”, came the mains and after the mains that we had I just couldnt help but say “I LOVE the food here” (I don’t say that very often :P). Both the Chicken Schnitzel  and the Chicken and Prawn Jambalaya totally blew my mind! The Schnitzel was perfectly crusted and fried to the point of it being beautifully crunchy from the outside and moist from the inside. It came with some sauteed veggies, a beautiful mushroom sauce and some creamy mashed potatoes (I have a huge THING for mashed potatoes…HUGE!). The Jambalaya came as a huge surprise to me since I have never really had some good Jambalaya in the city. The Jambalaya served here is packed with flavor and is definitely a must have.

DSCN0468
Chicken and Prawn Jambalaya.

IMG-20160511-WA0009-01.jpeg

So, after the great meal that I had, I can easily say that OMG Resto Cafe is one of the better cafes in the city. If they maintain their consistency with the food and introduce some more variety to their desserts, I am sure that this place will work amazingly. They are soon going to start serving Beers and Wines which will definitely add to the USP of this place. So, if you are ever in Andheri and looking to grab some good food try Oh My Gorge Resto Cafe and I promise that you will not be dissapointed!

Ps. Every Tuesday is a “Bring your pet” day! Pet owners can now rejoice :D!

Overall Ratings:

Food – 3.5/5

Ambiance – 3.75/5

Service – 4/5

Overall – 3.75/5

 

Leave a Reply

