Oriental Delight at Imperial China

Everyone, no matter how big a foodie, always has some or the other food joints or restaurants that have been on their bucket list for the longest time and they, inspite of wanting to do so, have never managed to pay a visit to that place.

The Hilton has been one of those places for me! Inspite oh hearing some great reviews about the restaurants here, I have never really managed to visit and try any of them for myself! That however changed this weekend! I finally tried Hilton Mumbai’s specialty Oriental Restaurant – Imperial China and my experience was much better than what I expected it to be!

Hilton as a hotel is very British in its decor. Right from when you step inside, you will be transported to London! Huge wall clocks, very yellow and warm lights and welcoming decor, every corner of the Hilton screams of the royalty that it has originated from.

I was visiting Imperial China for their Satay Festival and given my love for food on a stick, I absolutely could not wait for what was on offer.

We started with some glorious cocktails stirred and shaken from Hilton’s gorgeous lounge bar. Each cocktail had a certain classic charm to it which was a great change from all the shallow gimmicks that people are trying with drinks now a days!

DSCN9500.JPG

DSCN9502.JPG

Now, I have an acute case of FOMO (fear of missing out) and since I did not want to miss out of trying any of the “Non Vegetarian” satays, I decided to try a couple of sticks from each variety that was on offer. My favorites were the Pork Satay and the Lamb Satay…so much so that I couldn’t help but order seconds of them!

DSCN9503.JPG

Along with the Satay, I also tried some of their regular appetizers and was mighty impressed with what I tried. Apart from the Prawns Har Gao which was gorily overcooked, each appetizer was nailed into absolute perfection!

The Gong Hom Sabai was fried to perfection and was crispy from the outside with a moist prawn inside! This along with the sweet chilly dipping sauce was a delight to have.

DSCN9509.JPG

My favorite appetizer though was the Five Spice Squid which was fabulously flavored and the squid had a crunchy crisp to it!

DSCN9515.JPG

The general rule that I have observed is that the appetizers you eat at the restaurant are always much better than what follows. In the case of Imperial China however, they were just as good (if not better!).

The Mandarin Duck was truly one of the finest preparations of Duck I have tried in the city. Marinated on orange and chilly, this had the tangyness of the orange along with the punch of the chilly.

DSCN9516.JPG

The Pan Seared Salmon was seared to perfection and was tossed in the most amazing chilly sauce.

DSCN9521.JPG

But what took the cake was definitely the Prawn Massaman Curry which beats each version of the curry that I have tried through out the city! So damn good!

DSCN9520.JPG

All in all, classic oriental food, elevated with nothing but authenticity and class is how you can define the food at Imperial China! This one is a must try for all you Oriental Food Lovers!

Imperial China - Hilton Mumbai International Airport Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

